APC Governors with President Buhari



President Muhammadu Buhari and governors of the All Progressives Congress (APC) resolved to postpone the emergency National Executive Council (NEC) slated for today to save the party from implosion.

The postponement of the NEC meeting convened by forces who want the National Chairman of the party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole out was announced at the end of the president’s meeting with the governors at the State House, Abuja yesterday. But other credible sources said beyond the implosion issue, some anti-Oshiomhole forces are still perfecting their homework to ensure that whenever the NEC meeting was called, they would have enough support to remove the embattled chairman.

The NEC meeting until the president’s intervention yesterday was seen as an avenue to perfect plots to oust Oshiomhole. The plot is allegedly being spearheaded by the governor of Edo State, Godwin Obaseki and seven of his colleagues. On Monday, the national leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu had warned that Oshiomhole should not be removed as national chairman of the party. It is believed in some quarters that removing Oshiomhole would indirectly mean drastically reducing the influence of Tinubu not only in the affairs of the party but other strategic national issues.

 The meeting was attended by 16 out of the 20 governors of the ruling party. These included Babagana Zulum, Borno; Babajide Sanwo Olu, Lagos; Dapo Abiodun, Ogun; Godwin Obaseki, Edo; Bagudu, Kebbi, Abubakar Badaru, Jigawa; Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq,  Kwara; Abdullahi Sule, Nasarawa; Mohammed Sani Bello, Niger; Simon Lalong, Plateau; Rotimi Akeredolu, Ondo; Abdullahi Ganduje, Kano; Adegboyega Oyetola, Osun; Aminu Bello Masari, Katsina; Hope Uzodinma, Imo, and Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State. Governors Nasir el-Rufai, Kaduna; Kayode Fayemi, Ekiti; Mai Mala Buni, Yobe; and Yahaya Bello of Kogi State were conspicuously absent at the meeting. Governors that are said to be solidly behind Oshiomhole are; Zulum (Borno), Ganduje (Kano), Masari (Kano), Bello (Kogi), Abdulrazak (Kwara), Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Sule (Nasarawa), Abiodun (Ogun), Oyetola (Osun), Buni (Yobe), and Uzodimma (Imo). Those said to be on the other side are;  Obaseki (Edo), Fayemi (Ekiti), Muhammad (Jigawa), El-Rufai (Kaduna), Bagudu (Kebbi), Bello (Niger), Akeredolu (Ondo) and Lalong (Plateau).